United States Constitution

The United States Constitution is the shortest and oldest written constitution of any major sovereign state.

The Constitution of the United States of America is the supreme law of the United States. It is the foundation and source of the legal authority underlying the existence of the United States of America and the Federal Government of the United States. It provides the framework for the organization of the United States Government.

The document defines the three main branches of the government: The legislative branch with a bicameral Congress (two legislative chambers), an executive branch led by the President, and a judicial branch headed by the Supreme Court.

Besides providing for the organization of these branches, the Constitution outlines obligations of each office, as well as provides what powers each branch may exercise. It also reserves numerous rights for the individual states thereby establishing the United States' federal system of government.

The United States Constitution was adopted on September 17, 1787, by the Constitutional Convention (or Constitutional Congress) in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania , and later ratified by conventions in each US State in the name of "The People".

The first ten amendments are known as the Bill of Rights. The first amendment addresses the rights of freedom of religion, freedom of speech, freedom of the press, freedom of assembly, and freedom of petition.

Please share this information with your kids, grandchildren, and anyone who has not been taught about our Constitution.

"The 5000 Year Leap" is a wonderful book detailing how our founding fathers put together our United States Constitution. I recommend this book for teaching the truth about the founding of our country.

1 comment:

Liz said...

A wonderful post!